U.S. Education Secretary Duncan to Announce Broad Prize

  • twitter
  • Facebook
  • google+

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan will announce the winner of the 2011 Broad Prize on Tuesday, Sept. 20 at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. This is the tenth anniversary of The Broad Prize, established in 2002. It is the largest education award in the country given each year to honor urban school districts that demonstrate the greatest overall performance and improvement in student achievement, while reducing achievement gaps among low-income and minority students.

This year's Broad Prize district finalists are: Charlotte-Mecklenburg, N.C.; Broward County Public Schools, Fla.; Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Fla.; and Ysleta Independent School District in Texas. The winner of The Broad Prize will receive $550,000 in college scholarships for high school seniors who will graduate in 2012. The three finalist districts will each receive $150,000 in college scholarships, for a total distribution of $1 million in Broad Prize scholarships.