U.S. Education Officials to Join State and District Leaders across 41 States for a Two-Day Conference on Strengthening the Teaching Profession

  • twitter
  • Facebook
  • google+

Editor's Note: The following advisory has been updated to include a webcast address for opening and closing sessions, and a Twitter hashtag: #LMConf12.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan will join several national education leaders to host state and district education leaders representing 41 states for the 2012 Labor Management Conference from Wednesday, May 23 to Thursday, May 24. The event, titled, “Collaborating to Transform the Teaching Profession," will highlight innovative approaches to improve student achievement by dramatically increasing the stature of the teaching profession and the number of highly qualified teachers in our nation’s schools.

More than a dozen state and district teams will showcase their local work. The conference will encourage participants – teams of state and district school chiefs, union leaders, and school board leaders from over 100 states and districts — to exchange ideas, share lessons learned, and encourage leaders to take on similar efforts when they return home.

The event is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, the American Federation of Teachers (AFT), National Education Association (NEA), Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), Council of the Great City Schools (CGCS), American Association of School Administrators (AASA), National School Boards Association (NSBA), and the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS).

The opening and closing session on day one and closing session on day two will be webcast at http://www.ustream.tv/channel/education-department. The general public is also invited to participate by joining the conversation on Twitter via hashtag #LMConf12.

Press interested in attending must RSVP to [email protected] today, Tuesday, May 22, by 1 p.m. ET. All events listed below will take place at the Duke Convention Center, 525 Elm Street, Cincinnati, Ohio.