President Obama, Dr. Jill Biden to Honor Teachers of the Year

  • twitter
  • Facebook
  • google+

Washington, DC — On Tuesday, President Obama will honor the 2012 National Teacher of the Year and finalists, thanking them for their hard work and dedication each and every day in the classroom. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan will also attend the event. The President believes that the education of our children is critical to our nation's success as we compete in a 21st century global economy. We must make the investments in education and continue to inspire innovation, raise graduation rates, and ultimately out-educate our global competitors.

On Monday afternoon, Dr. Jill Biden, an educator for more than 30 years, will host a reception honoring the 2012 National Teacher of the Year finalists at the Vice President's Residence at the U.S. Naval Observatory in Washington, DC. This is the fourth year in a row that Dr. Biden will host this group of accomplished teachers at the Naval Observatory. Portions of this event will be pooled press.

The National Teacher of the Year is chosen from among the State Teachers of the Year by a national selection committee representing the major national education organizations organized by the Council of Chief State School Officers.

Members of the media who would like to cover the Teacher of the Year ceremony must RSVP to [email protected] before Monday, April 23, 12:00PM EDT, with the subject line "Teacher of the Year". Members of the media who do not have a White House hard pass must also submit their full name (including middle name), date of birth, Social Security number, gender, country of birth, country of citizenship and current city and state of residence.

Monday, April 23

  • Dr. Jill Biden will host a reception honoring the 2012 National Teacher of the Year finalists
    3:30 PM EDT
    U.S. Naval Observatory
    Portions of this event will be pooled press

Tuesday, April 24

  • The President will deliver remarks honoring the National Teacher of the Year
    10:05AM EDT
    Rose Garden
    Open Press

The 2012 State Teachers of the Year:

Gay Barnes
Horizon Elementary School
Elementary, 1

Cara Heitz
Cordova Jr./Sr. High School
Science, Health, 7-12

American Samoa
Lita Marie Timoteo
Tafuna Elementary School
American Samoa Department of Education
Mathematics, 6

Kristie Martorelli
Thompson Ranch Elementary School
Reading Interventions, K-3

Kim Wilson
Monticello High School
Visual Arts, 9-12

Rebecca Lynn Mieliwocki
Luther Burbank Middle School
English, 7

Kristin Donley
Monarch High School
Science, 9-12

David Bosso
Berlin High School
Social Studies, 9-12

Amber Augustus
John Bassett Moore Intermediate School
Math, Science, Social Studies, 5

Department of Defense Education Activity
Angela Wilson
Vicenza Middle School
Language Arts, Forensics, 7

District of Columbia
Perea Brown-Blackmon
Langdon Educational Center
Elementary, 3-4

Alvin Aureliano Davis
Miramar High School
Music, 9-12

Jadun O. McCarthy
Northeast High School
English/Language Arts, 9-12

Chad Miller
Kailua High School
Language Arts, 10-12

Erin L. Lenz
Winton Elementary School
Reading, K-5

Josh Stumpenhorst
Lincoln Junior High School
Language Arts, Social Science, 6

Melanie L. Park
Riverview Middle School
Reading Remediation, 6-8

Charity Campbell
Norwalk Middle School
Physical Education, 6-7

Tiffany Richard
Olathe East High School
AVID Program, Biology, Chemistry, 9-12

Kimberly Shearer
Boone County High School
English, 11

April Jessup Giddens
Natchitoches Magnet School
Reading, English Language Arts, 6

Alana M. Margeson
Caribou High School
English, 10-11

Joshua Parker
Windsor Mill Middle School
English/Language Arts, 6-12

Adam Gray
Boston Latin School
Mathematics, 9-12

Paul Galbenski
Oakland Schools Technical Campus Southeast
Business/Marketing/Career and Technical Education, 11-12

Katy Smith
Early Childhood Family Education at Goodview
Parent Education, all levels of students

Birdette Hughey
Greenwood High School
Algebra, 9-12

Kristen C. Merrell
Lee's Summit Elementary School
Elementary, 3

Thomas A. Pedersen
Capital High School
Biology, 11-12

Luisa Palomo Hare
Liberty Elementary School
Elementary, K

Deanna LeBlanc
East Valley Elementary School
Elementary, 4

New Hampshire
Bethany Bernasconi
Windham High School
Biology, 10-12

New Jersey
Jeanne M. DelColle
Burlington County Institute of Technology
History, 9-11

New Mexico
MaryBeth Britton
Pecos High School
English, 9-12

New York
Kathleen Ferguson
Jessie T. Zoller Elementary School
Elementary, 2

North Carolina
Tyronna M. Hooker
Graham Middle School
Social Studies, Special Education, 6-8

North Dakota
Brenda M. Werner
Bismarck High School
English Language Arts, 10-12

Northern Mariana Islands
Jonathan Pangelinan Cabrera
Saipan Southern High School
English/Language Arts, 12

Timothy M. Dove
Phoenix Middle School
Social Studies, 7

Kristin Shelby
Sallie Gillentine Elementary School
Elementary, 4

Elena García-Valasco
SEIS@Roosevelt Campus
Spanish Language Arts, 9-12

Rhode Island
Julie Lima Boyle
Coventry High School
English Language Arts, 12

South Carolina
Patti J. Tate
Northwestern High School
AP English, 11-12

South Dakota
Patrick Moller
Mitchell Middle School
Mathematics, 7

Byron Booker
Knox Central High School
ESL, 9-12

Karen Ann Morman
J. W. Webb Elementary School
Literacy, 2-5

Leigh M. VandenAkker
East High School
Social Studies, 9-12

Tong J. Chen
Leland and Gray Union Middle and High School
Chinese, 7-12

Virgin Islands
Nneka Howard-Sibilly
Charlotte Amalie High School
AP Biology, 12

Margaret A. Smith
Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School for Innovation
English, 8

Mark Ray
Skyview High School
Library Information and Technology, 9-12

West Virginia
Robert Morris
Clay County High School
Agriculture, 9-12

Bradley A. Markhardt
Black River Falls High School
Agriculture Education, 7-12

Herbert Brent Daly
Campbell County High School
Science, 11-12