U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan to Honor National Blue Ribbon Schools at Awards Ceremony

  • twitter
  • Facebook
  • google+

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan will honor the nation’s 340 Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014 at an awards ceremony at Tuesday, Nov. 11 at 12:30 p.m. ET at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The honors also include special leadership awards in the name of former Secretary of Education Terrel H. Bell. At a breakfast ceremony at 9 a.m. ET, eight principals will receive the Bell Award for their outstanding leadership in fostering successful teaching and learning at their schools.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close achievement gaps, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

Representatives from the 340 schools will be available to the news media. A list of the 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools is available at http://www.ed.gov/nationalblueribbonschools.

The Obama Administration strongly believes that every child deserves the opportunity to succeed, and education is crucial to the economic strength and security of our nation and communities. The Department’s work is focused on ensuring all students receive an education that prepares them for success in life and their career, through programs including Promise Neighborhoods, School Improvement Grants, Race to the Top, and ConnectED, as well as ED’s work to expand access to preschool and make college more affordable.