Education Secretary Arne Duncan to Honor National Blue Ribbon Schools in Washington, D.C.

  • twitter
  • Facebook
  • google+

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan will honor the nation’s 315 Blue Ribbon Schools for 2011 at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 15th, at 12:30 p.m. EDT at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, DC.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at very high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students. The program is part of a larger Department of Education effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices.

Representatives from the 315 schools being honored will be available to the news media. A list of the 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools is available at