A Second Dose of H1N1 Flu Vaccine

  • twitter
  • Facebook
  • google+

All children under 10 years of age should receive a second dose of the H1N1 flu vaccine to ensure full protection against the virus and prevent further outbreaks of the flu.

To underscore this message, Secretary Duncan joined U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius, U.S. Surgeon General Regina Benjamin, Congressman Jim Moran, and Arlington Public Schools Superintendent Patrick Murphy for a tour of an H1N1 school vaccination clinic at Carlin Springs Elementary School in Arlington, Virginia.  At the event, Duncan discussed the importance of this second dose of the vaccine for all children under 10.

Arlington Public Schools and the Arlington County Public Health Division have teamed up to provide more than 12,000 students with H1N1 vaccinations at in-school clinics like the one at Carlin Springs Elementary.  Over the next two weeks, school and county officials plan to hold vaccination clinics in elementary schools across the county to provide all eligible children under the age of 10 with access to their second H1N1 inoculation to ensure immunity to the flu virus.

Carlin Springs students hail from over 35 different countries.  Half the students are learning English.  More than 80% are eligible for free and reduced price lunch.  To help meet the academic and human service needs of students and their families, Carlin Springs has implemented the “community school” model.  The school provides access to a range of health, mental health, and dental services through community partners.  It sponsors after-school enrichment activities, parenting workshops, family library nights, computer literacy classes for parents, developmental playgroups for toddlers and their parents, and a student-run branch of Arlington Federal Credit Union.  These are among the reasons student test scores have improved dramatically, with more than 90% of students proficient in reading and 81% proficient in math.  In 2007, Carlin Springs received the National Award for Excellence from the Coalition for Community Schools.

Todd May
Office of Communications and Outreach